If convicted of DWI, once my license is restored will I be required to get an Interlock Ignition (the device you have to give a breath sample in order for your car to start)?
Under North Carolina General Statute 20-17.8, if you’re convicted of a DWI and register a .15 or higher, you will be required to get an interlock ignition and you will not be able to obtain this device until 45 days after your date of conviction.
The penalties for DWI in NC are stiff. Once charged, it is best to consult a criminal defense attorney.
I was charged with DWI in North Carolina. Can I get a Limited Driving Privilege for employment purposes?
Freddie Fireball was charged with Driving while Intoxicated on Friday night. The magistrate seized Freddie’s license for 30 days before Freddie was released on his own recognizance. Freddie insists he cannot wait 30 days to get his license back. Freddie needs to get back and forth to work. What are his options?
In North Carolina, Freddie may be granted a Limited Driving Privilege for employment purposes at the discretion of the court. He’ll need to consult a criminal defense attorney about his eligibility based upon the facts surrounding the DWI arrest, Freddie’s criminal record, and whether Freddie has a Commercial Driver’s License. If eligible, Freddie will need to do or obtain the following things.
Proof of Insurance DL-123 or Equivalent
Letter from employer verifying and employment and the time employee usually works
Completion of an Alcohol Assessment from a qualified mental health service
NC Certified Criminal Record evidencing driver has not been convicted of a previous DWI within 7 years of the current DWI arrest
Should I just pay my ticket online?
While on vacation with her family, Candace Camry received a ticket in Dare County, NC. Candace resides about four hours away in Raleigh, NC, and doesn’t want to drive all the way back for her court date. The Trooper cited Candace for driving 71 in a 55 mph zone. Candace notices the tickets states she has the option of paying her court cost and fines online and foregoing appearing for her court date. Candace has not received a traffic infraction in 10 years.
Consequences of Paying Tickets Online in North Carolina
By paying tickets online the driver agrees to take responsibility for the full speed and therefore will incur DMV and Insurance points (See Point System Below). Furthermore in NC, if a driver pleads guilty to driving 15 mph over the speed limit in a 55 mph zone, their license will be suspended.